List of Commercial Banks in South Africa

South African Reserve Bank Internship Programme 2022-2023

In this post, we’ve compiled the list of commercial banks in South Africa. As we all know, a bank is a financial institution saddled with the responsibility to save people’s money, or investments for future purposes. There are different kinds of banks i.e commercial, micro-finance, co-operative banks, etc. Presently, there are over 100 standing banks in South Africa, which most of them are locally-controlled.

Below is a list of commercial banks in South Africa:

Locally controlled Banks;

  • Absa Group Limited
  • African Bank Limited
  • Bidvest Bank Limited
  • Capitec Bank Limited
  • Discovery Limited
  • First National Bank
  • FirstRand Bank – A subsidiary of First Rand Limited
  • Grindrod Bank Limited
  • Imperial Bank South Africa
  • Investec Bank Limited
  • Nedbank Limited
  • Sasfin Bank Limited
  • Standard Bank of South Africa
  • Ubank Limited
  • TymeBank

Co-operative banks;

  • Ditsobotla Primary Savings and Credit Co-operative Bank[2]
  • OSK Koöperatiewe Bank Beperk[2]

Foreign-controlled banks;

  • Al Baraka Banking Group
  • Habib Overseas Bank Limited
  • Habib Bank AG Zurich
  • Mercantile Bank Limited
  • South African Bank of Athens Limited

Branches of foreign banks;

  • Bank of Baroda
  • Bank of China
  • Bank of Taiwan
  • BNP Paribas
  • Calyon Corporate and Investment Bank
  • China Construction Bank Corporation
  • Citibank N.A.
  • Deutsche Bank AG
  • JPMorgan Chase Bank
  • Société Générale
  • Standard Chartered Bank
  • State Bank of India
  • Hongkong and Shanghai Banking Corporation

Foreign Bank Representatives;

  • AfrAsia Bank Limited
  • Banco Africano de Investimentos
  • Banco BIC
  • Banco BPI SA
  • Banco Espirito Santo e Comercial de Lisboa
  • Banco Santander Totta S.A.
  • Bank Leumi Le-Israel BM
  • Bank of America
  • Bank of Cyprus Group
  • Bank of India
  • Barclays Bank Plc
  • Barclays Private Clients International Limited
  • Commerzbank AG Johannesburg
  • Credit Suisse AG
  • Ecobank
  • Export-Import Bank of India
  • Fairbairn Private Bank (Isle of Man) Limited
  • Fairbairn Private Bank (Jersey) Limited
  • First Bank of Nigeria
  • First City Monument Bank Plc
  • Hellenic Bank Public Company Limited
  • HSBC Bank International Limited
  • ICICI Bank Limited
  • Industrial and Commercial Bank of China
  • KfW Ipex-Bank GmbH
  • Lloyds TSB Offshore Limited
  • Mauritius Commercial Bank Limited
  • Mukuru
  • Millennium BCP
  • National Bank of Egypt
  • Royal Bank of Scotland International Limited
  • Société Générale
  • Sumitomo Mitsui Banking Corporation
  • The Bank of New York Mellon
  • The Bank of Tokyo-Mitsubishi UFJ Limited
  • The Mizuho Bank Limited
  • The Export-Import Bank of China
  • The Royal Bank of Scotland N.V.
  • UBS AG
  • Unicredit Bank AG
  • Union Bank of Nigeria Plc
  • Wells Fargo Bank
  • Zenith Bank Plc

Mutual banks;

  • GBS Mutual Bank
  • VBS Mutual Bank
  • Finbond Mutual Bank
  • Bank Zero

Other Banks;

  • Development Bank of Southern Africa
  • Land and Agricultural Development Bank of South Africa
  • Postbank


Be the first to comment

Leave a Comment!